12 NBJH Alumni Receive HOH Scholarships

12 NBJH Alumni Receive HOH Scholarships
Posted on 07/06/2016
HOH Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the District 28 alumni who received a 2016 Homer O. Harvey Scholarship, a fund sponsored by the District 28 PTO Council.

This year’s winners are, from left, Eleanor Westel, Natalie Blunt, Milad Hosseini, Lynn Hanna, Shayna Lutz, Joseph Ferber, and Allyson Bondy, who posed with Philip J. Harvey, who presented the award named in his father’s honor at the Glenbrook North ceremony May 27. Students who received the scholarship but are not pictured include Lily Ruklick, David Dischinger, Mary Traynor, Nathaniel Whitfield and Mae Wimbiscus, who is a student at Loyola Academy.

Each student receives $1,000 toward second semester tuition after successful completion of first semester.

 Since 1989 a total of $279,500 has been awarded to 315 Northbrook Junior High graduates. The major fund-raising event for the scholarship fund is the HOH 5K/Walk/Fun Run, which is held in May.